Wishin’ and Hopin’ – 12/8/14

WISHIN2

A new Christmas movie aired on the Lifetime Network this weekend. When I saw this description on my DVR menu, I was not surprisingly intrigued:

DVRDescription

What an amazing sentence! I don’t even know how to start processing this information. As such, it had to be good, right? And they don’t even mention that Meatloaf is a part of this thing too. Hell, Chevy Chase might even be the narrator as well. It can’t miss!

Oh yes it can. Which is not to say it was a terrible film. Maybe it was but more importantly, it was not for me. We had to turn it off. And not just turn it off but slam dunk it. And not just slam dunk it but truly posterize the thing, ala Shawn Kemp on Alton Lister back in the day:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_PzNsUotVI

Why? It seemed to want to be A Christmas Story (narration, time period, somewhat similar tone) and while there was a time and place for A Christmas Story, that time and place has kind of passed for me. And I sure as hell don’t need another. Like I said, I won’t necessarily tell you that Wishin’ and Hopin’ was terrible. If you thought A Christmas Story was totally charming or that Molly Ringwald should have a French accent, go for it. Me, I was done after about 15-20 minutes.Rating?

N/A. Incomplete. Pete Townshend’s 6th solo albumEmpty Glass

 

Leave a Reply

